Thu, January 1, 1970
Race #8 - Stewards inquiry regarding the stretch run. #6 Lady Kreesa (Manuel Franco) comes out under left handed whip making contact with #5 Orient Harbor (Jose Ortiz) inside the 1/16 pole slowing #5 Orient Harbor momentum as #5 Orient Harbor finishes fifth by a short head. After viewing all video angles and speaking to the riders involved, in the judgment of the stewards this incident altered the finish of the race Stewards Disqualified #6 Lady Kreesa from 4th and placed her 5th for interfering with #5 Orient Harbor. The official order of finish 10-9-4-5
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the offended horse.
The Stewards consider whether the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to the finish of the race.
The Stewards also consider whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish.
For more information, see
Commission rule 4035.2 (“Riding foul penalized