Fri, August 6, 2021
Race 7 - Stewards’ inquiry. # 6 Original (Luis Saez) clipped heels
in the stretch with #1 Annex (Junior Alvarado) while receiving inside pressure
from #4 Easy Time (Tyler Gaffalione). After reviewing the video and
speaking to the riders involved, the stewards did not believe the incident
affected the parimutuel wagering . The race was made official as-is: 2-1-5-7.
After meeting with the riders and reviewing the replays, the stewards issued the following ruling: https://rulings.gaming.ny.gov/searchrulings.detail...
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state,
meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of
causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has
altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the
offended horse. The Stewards consider whether
the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to
the finish of the race. The Stewards also consider
whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while
interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be
disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For
example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely
improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending
horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish.