Stewards inquiry into the first turn as #5 Hollywood Handsome(Florent Geroux) runs up on the heels of the #1 Twisted Tom(Javier Castellano) and stumbled causing #5 Hollywood Handsome rider to loose both of his stirrups. #5 Hollywood Handsome was pulled up in the vicinity of 5 1/2 pole. After watching the video in the judgment of the Stewards no further action was warranted.After returning to the wire the # 5 was vanned off.
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the offended horse. The Stewards consider whether the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to the finish of the race.
The Stewards also consider whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish. For more information, see Commission rule 4035.2 (“Riding foul penalized")
Gambling Problems? The New York Racing Association encourages responsible wagering. If gambling is a problem for you or someone you care about, help is available 24 hours a day. Call toll-free 1-877-8-HOPE-NY