Race 1 - Stewards’ inquiry and jockey’s objection into the stretch run. Approaching the 1/16 th pole, the #1 Our Ticket (Joey Martinez) comes out under left-handed crop into the path of the #2 Jasminesque (Eric Cancel), who clips heels. After reviewing the video and speaking to the riders involved, the stewards felt the outcome of the race was affected and the #1 was disqualified from 2 nd to 4th. The new order of finish is 1A-5-2-1-4.
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the offended horse. The Stewards consider whether the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to the finish of the race. The Stewards also consider whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish.
With regard to coupled entries, New York rule 4035.2(e) provides that the stewards can disqualify the balance of the entry if, in their judgment, the interference prevented any other horse from finishing ahead of the other part of the entry.
Gambling Problems? The New York Racing Association encourages responsible wagering. If gambling is a problem for you or someone you care about, help is available 24 hours a day. Scan here to talk with someone now about your gambling. Or call toll-free 1-877-8-HOPE-NY.