Stewards inquiry and a jockeys objection from the third place finisher #6 Altesino(Jose Oritz) against the first place finisher #7 Pursuer (Rajiv Maragh) for alleged interference after the start. After reviewing the video and speaking to the riders in the judgment of the stewards no action was warranted.
As the gates opened for Race One; #3 The Orphan Miracle ridden by Angel Arroyo swerved sharply to the right making contact with: # 4 Ransom Note, #5 Steady Heat and #6 Altesino. The judgement of the Stewards collectively determined that although there was sufficient demonstrable interference caused by this incident, the development of events and interference and #3 The Orphan Miracle is disqualified from fifth place and placed last for interference at the start.
The order of finish is 22.214.171.124
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the offended horse.
The Stewards consider whether the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to the finish of the race.
The Stewards also consider whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish.
For more information, see Commission rule 4035.2 (“Riding foul penalized")
Gambling Problems? The New York Racing Association encourages responsible wagering. If gambling is a problem for you or someone you care about, help is available 24 hours a day. Call toll-free 1-877-8-HOPE-NY