Race #10 - Stewards inquiry and a jockey’s objection from the seventh place finisher #1 Throw the Fade(Rajiv Maragh)against the fourth place finisher #6 Sparky(Eric Cancel) for alleged interference in the vicinity of the 3 /16 pole.
#6 Sparky comes over on #1 Throw the Fade who was racing against the rail and stopping his momentum. After reviewing the video and speaking to riders involved in the judgment of the stewards the rider of #6 Sparky rode in a careless manner and is hereby demoted from fourth place and placed seventh. The new order of finish is 188.8.131.52
With regard to interference, New York is a “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of causing interference and such interference in the judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of the race, then the interferer is placed behind the offended horse.
The Stewards consider whether the riders of the horse or horses that are offended continue to give effort to the finish of the race.
The Stewards also consider whether the offending jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while interfering with another horse or jockey, for which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e., placed last or unplaced in the order of finish. For example, if an offending jockey acts in a dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may disqualify the offending horse without regard to the specific effect of the foul on the order of finish.
For more information, see Commission rule 4035.2 (“Riding foul penalized)
Gambling Problems? The New York Racing Association encourages responsible wagering. If gambling is a problem for you or someone you care about, help is available 24 hours a day. Scan here to talk with someone now about your gambling. Or call toll-free 1-877-8-HOPE-NY.